Happy long weekend!!

Hope the rest of the week went well for everyone!

I worked two buuusy night shifts and now I’m on days off!! Well, technically they started yesterday but I fell asleep at 8pm last night so I didn’t get a chance to post ;)

I finished up this week’s meal plan though!

Wednesday was Mama Pea’s Zucchini Quinoa Lasagna.

This is the best lasagna I’ve ever had in my life. For reals. Mama Pea is a GEEEEENIUS.

This was incredibly easy and beyond deliciousssss.

Mine obviously doesn’t look as appetizing as hers and next time I wouldn’t use a zucchini as big as a baseball bat but nonetheless, it was the best thing I ate all week.

Mama Pea’s Zucchini Lasagna

2 large zucchini, cut into 12 thin, 1/4 in. thick slices

salt

1 c. quinoa, rinsed

2 c. vegetable broth

1/2 c. tomato sauce

1/4 c. minced onion

1 t. dried oregano

1/4 c. fresh basil, chopped

1/4 c. fresh parsley, chopped

2 T. organic or non-dairy cream cheese, i.e. Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese (optional) (I used 3 laughing cow wedges)*

salt and pepper to taste

1 jar organic marinara sauce

1/2 c. organic or non-dairy cheese, i.e. Daiya (optional) (I used goat chedda)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400.

To prepare zucchini, cut a strip off of one side to make a flat base.

Then, thinly slice zucchini into “noodles.”  You’ll want 12 noodles in total.

Place noodles in a colander and sprinkle with salt, layering between paper towels. Let this sit and absorb moisture while preparing the quinoa.

Combine quinoa, vegetable broth, tomato sauce, onion and oregano in a large saucepan and bring to a boil.

Cover and lower heat, simmering for 20 minutes.

When quinoa has absorbed all the liquid, fold in cream cheese and herbs. Add salt and pepper to taste, and try not to eat the whole pot. Believe it or not, it gets better. Pour enough of marinara in the bottom of an 8×8 baking dish to cover the bottom.  Using a clean dry towel, blot remaining moisture and salt from zucchini and layer 4 noodles across the sauce.

Put a layer of quinoa across the zucchini, and cover with another 1/3 c. of marinara sauce. Repeat with another layer of quinoa, sauce and zucchini. Top the final layer of zucchini with remaining sauce and 1/2 c. of cheese, if using.

Bake lasagna for 30 minutes, until heated through and zucchini is tender.

*For some reason Laughing Cow cheese in the US is bigger than Canadian Laughing Cow. No idea why or how that is, just a fun fact for ya. So maybe only use like 1-2.

Andrew and I both licked our plates clean. And his parents loved it. SUPER WIN.

I also made Danica’s Vegan Pasta Salad for a work foodie night! Yum yum. I make this pasta salad a lot and it’s sooo awesome!

I just used what veggies I had on hand:

blanched snap peas and broccoli

shredded carrots

red peppers

There was LOTS of snacks at work.

My plate was full of fruit, salad, dips, chips and sushi.

***

Thursday was supposed to be veggie chili but because I swapped up days, it was pita pizza night!

whole wheat pita

organic pasta sauce

broccoli

mushrooms

red peppers

green peppers

May’s humnut sauce with leftover roasted red pepper hummus

Baked in the oven at 400F for 15 minutes.

I know that there was supposed to be tandoori chickpea salad as well but I didn’t have enough time to make it before I worked my last night shift. SORRY. It will be on the meal plan for next week!

***

Last night was supposed to be clean out the fridge stirfry but my friends, it didn’t happen either. Leftovers were eaten, just not in the form of a stirfry.

Baked yam with pineapple salsa, avocado and goat chedda.

Andrew’s parents were had some people over last night so they had a bunch of appies out that I munched on, too. I mainly ate the raw veggies, hummus and dill dip.

***

I went for a coffee date with one of my best friends Kristi today that was soo needed! Missed her big time! Right before I met her I did a little bit of shopping….look what I found!!

Ahhh! I have been lusting after these bowls for about 6 months! Sooo cool!

I used it for supper and filled it with leftover brown rice, roasted red pepper pasta sauce, 1/4 avocado and some parm cheese. And a little nug of a baguette with butter.

Frickin’ fantastic.

Dessert was up there, too.

3 squares in my overfilled belly

***

SoOoOoOoOoOoO it’s prob time for me to hit the hay. Hoping to fit in some kind of a workout tomorrow and hang out with An-d-rew.

Have a superfabulous rest of the weekend! :)


Paije xx

PS. Fun fact. 110 days until Christmas. That’s right. Costco already has their Christmas stuff out.

Tell me….When do you start your Christmas shopping???

