Hey guys!

Mind if we skip the part where I apologize for my absence and nonblogging? Mmmkay great :)

I realize that a lot has happened in the past month +.

We celebrated Christmas…

My mom, dad, brother, Andrew, Beasley and me

(the reindeer headbands have definitely become a tradition)

New Years Eve…

Crazy late night partier…(9:30pm)

and my 27th birthday…

angel food cake with whipped cream + strawberries and T.I. <3

haha birthday cupcake destruction

I actually spent all three holidays with my other family – work. Thankfully I love them lots so it wasn’t a big deal ;) And thankfully I was still able to spend time with my real families, too. I am pretty damn excited for holidays this year though – I’ll be on maternity leave so I won’t have to worry about working Christmas or New Years!

Lots has been happening with the baby, too. I guess that was bound to happen – now that I’m 8 months (32 weeks)!! It’s been going by so so fast. I think I only have 20 days left of work? And I’m pretty sure I am getting bigger by the day, at least that’s what I keep hearing. “Are you sure you’re not having twins??” is another common one :/

I have so much to update about pregnancy/baby, etc. but I’m going to make a separate place for that so you aren’t bombarded by baby posts :)

I have been trying really hard to eat well and get all the nutrients I can now, basically making up for all the cans of alphaghetti I ate in my first trimester :). I have a bunch of food pics for you and even a recipe! Oh yes!

brown rice veggie sushi

roasted veggie sandwich with hummus + cream of mushroom and spinach soup

2 eggs, kale, avocado, ketchup with black rice toast + hemp hearts and banana with almond butter and chia seeds

mashed yams with a veggie sausage, sautéed carrots, celery and kale and salad with pomegranate arils, avocado and pumpkin seeds

Protein muffin with blueberries, maple syrup, almond butter and hemp hearts

awesome awesome soup! I’ve made it 5 times already!

baked beans on a veggie burger with lots of goat cheddar, romaine salad with avocado and roasted pepper dressing

protein pancakes with blueberries, maple syrup and hemp hearts

lots of bbq shrimp with salt, pepper and lemon and mixed greens with quinoa and avocado

mixed greens, roasted broccoli, fried haloumi cheese, veggie sausage, brown rice and raspberry vinaigrette

spinach cakes on top of mixed greens and brown rice

I have been trying to get this recipe from Andrew for the last 2 years – it’s definitely one of my favourites. I finally got him to write it down :D

Spinach and Mushroom Cakes

- 8 oz fresh spinach

- 4 mushrooms, diced

- 1/4 onion, diced

- 4 cloves of garlic, diced

- 1 egg

- 1/3 – 1/2 cup grated cheese

- 2 tbsp + 1 cup bread crumbs (I used finely chopped spelt crumbs)

- 2 tsp sriracha, or to taste

- salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F. Steam spinach until wilted. Remove and squeeze out excess liquid. Fry onion + garlic until soft over medium heat in a little bit of oil. Add mushrooms, salt and pepper and fry until mushrooms have browned. Chop spinach and throw in pan with mushrooms, onions and garlic. Cook off any excess liquid from the spinach and mushrooms and add the sriracha. Remove from heat and put mixture in a bowl to let cool for approximately five minutes. Add the cheese and mix together with your hands. Add the 2 tbsp of bread crumbs. Make into patties with your hands. (Our mixture made 2 big patties and 1 small one). Dip into whisked egg and then into bowl of bread crumbs. Place on pan lined with parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes per side. Let cool for about 5 minutes before eating. 

It finally looks/feels like winter now – just as of today

yesterday

today

so I am off to make a big pot of this soup and then venture out to the grocery store and then to our birthing class tonight! 

Hope you’re all doing well! If I don’t procrastinate for another 2 months, you’ll probably hear from me again really soon!

Lots of hugs,

Paije xo