Hey guys!

Hope you’re having a wonderful 4th of July! 

 We celebrated Canada Day on Sunday with my family ♥

***

I wanted to talk to you guys about meal planning. I know what you’re probably thinking, but bear with me ;)

I wanted to show you what has been working for us for the last couple weeks. We have tried meal planning a million times. And because I read so many blogs/cookbooks/magazines you would think that I would always have it figured out what I want every night for supper. So not the case. I’m pretty good for breakfasts and lunches [smoothies and salads right now] but supper is always an “I’m huuuungry but I don’t know what I want” whine to Andrew. But I finally found a system that works for us :)

Andrew and I each pick foods/cuisines that we like and then pick the days of the week that will work best with our schedules/weather. If that makes any sense at all haha.

Example: We loove tacos so we picked Tuesdays to have them. [Taco Tuesday!!] Now every Tuesday I know we are having some kind of tacos. Last week it was fish tacos, this week it was enchiladas. I also love Italian food so this week we chose Wednesday for pasta. We use the same pasta and veggies and then make our own sauces. Super easy. 

Okay so here’s this week’s schedule:

Monday – Grill [veggie burgers + salad]

Tuesday – Tacos [vegan enchiladas]

Wednesday – Pasta [goat cheese, fennel + mushroom fusilli]

Thursday – Pizza [homemade on the BBQ]

Friday – Tofu + Veggies [hemp seed crusted]

Saturday – Clean out the fridge/leftovers [take out for Andrew]

Sunday – Free night [supper with Andrew’s parents]

These meal plans have been so easy to follow and make grocery shopping a total breeze. I almost look forward to making them each week. <—geek

***

Monday we made these veggie burgers with this basil goat cheese spread.  

burger, huge mixed green salad with dried cranberries, feta and balsamic and steamed broccolini

The burgers were delicious [I love lentils and mushrooms] but I could probably just eat that spread with a spoon. We used fresh basil from our garden and it was just insane. So simple and so delicious. 

Tuesday we made these vegan enchiladas with cilantro avocado cream sauce.   My brother came for supper so he and Andrew had mexi fries with theirs and I had a big salad with mine.

The filling is so good I saved some to have for lunch today.

[terrible photo] enchilada with sauce and mixed greens with dried cranberries, pumpkin seeds and balsamic dressing

Tonight was pasta night. I used the rest of the basil goat cheese spread mixed with a bit of goat milk to make a sauce and tossed it with sautéed leek, fennel, mushrooms and fusilli.

pasta with an unpictured bowl of steamed swiss chard

That’s it so far this week. I can’t wait for tomorrow! Pizza is one of my favourite foods :) 

Night friends!

Paije xo

Tell me…

Are you a meal planner? Or do you just wing it? Meal planning has made my life a million times easier so yeah, totally love.

Favorite pizza topping? I HAVE to have pineapple on my pizza but I also love broccoli!

