Good afternoon! Hope everyone is having a really good day so far! It is BeAuTiFuL here in Saskatoon today – I think it’s -1 C which is so awwesome for the beginning of March. And it’s supposed to stay like this all week for my days off! Because I work shift work (four 12 hour days of 2 days and 2 nights) I always get random days off. I love having week days off!! It gives me a chance to do all my errands when everyone else is at work 🙂

Anywho, on Monday night I decided to make some lizard skin (aka cheeeesy raw kale chips). I heart kale chips so much! BUT I forgot to ask Andrew to shut the dehydrator off in the morning..or later that night even, and when I came home at 7am they looked a like this:



Don’t let them deceive you. They were sooo overcooked (over dehydrated?). I was really looking forward to them but they were a liiittle bit too crunchy for me. Not like Beasley and I still didn’t eat them all but I find they kind of get a weird after taste after being cooked too long. The recipe I used is one from my brother, Jordan.

Raw Cheezy Kale Chip Recipe:

1 large head of kale washed and ripped into strips
1 Cup soaked raw cashews
Juice of 1 lemon
1 yellow bell pepper
½ Cup of chopped cilantro
½ a jalapeño pepper (optional)
1 clove minced garlic (optional)
½ – 1 tsp sea salt
1 ½ TB of nutritional yeast

In blender or food processor put cashews, lemon juice, peppers, salt and yeast. Blend. Add the cilantro and blend some more. Once sauce is blended thoroughly, pour onto Kale in a large bowl and massage the sauce thoroughly into the ripped kale chunks. Place onto 2 drawers in your dehydrator and dehydrate for 8-12 hours.

After munching on a couple of lizard skins I had some breakfast/lunch of frickin fantastic oatmeal with almond butter, almond milk, chia seeds and raspberry jam. I don’t have a recipe but PB&J oats are EVERYWHERE in the blog world so I hope you can find the recipe it if you need it 😛 Who ever came up with this concept is insanely genius.

I then went outside to get the mail and saw a package shoved into my mailbox. I wasn’t expecting anything so I was supa surprised to see my name on it!! It was from my mom and it was so freakin awesome!! I HAVE THE BEST MOM :):)

Look who else was excited about the package hahaha




Inside was the sweetest note from my mom. She ALWAYS adds a note and I LOVE them. She is sooo thoughtful! She sent a bag full of hemp hearts, plastic baggies (which I am out of – I have no idea how she knows this), homemade granola bars, two In Your Face Snacks granola bars, mini cupcake cups, the books Push by Sapphire, The Pig Who Sang to the Moon by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson and Start & Run a Home-Based Food Business by Mimi Shotland Fix and my brother’s ad in the newpaper 🙂 SO HAPPY.

Well Andrew just got home from work (YAY!!) so I should probably go hang out with him hehe 😉 Have a grrrreat rest of the day!!

Paije xx

Question for y’all: Does anyone else work shift work?? Lately I have been a crazy late night snacker on my night shifts and I don’t really know why or how I should plan my meals on those days. Anyone else have this problem or have any suggestions??

