Goood evening!!

Can you believe today is the last day of May???

Already??

It sure doesn’t look like summer over here AT ALL. It’s forecasted to freeze tonight!

Laaaaaame.

Not lame though was my breakfast this morning. Like wowow. I have been experimenting with Scottish oats on and off for a couple of weeks now, but I could never have created anything as faaabulous as this.

Thanks Ashley!!! Click right  here for the recipe!

I topped mine with hazelnut cashew butter, granola and organic raspberry jam.

is it okay to drool over your own food? I don’t care. drooool.

As promised yesterday, here is the kale chip lizard skin recipe.

Step 1. Grab your kale.

Step 2: Cut kale off the stem and rip into bite size pieces.

small pieces

or big pieces, it doesn’t really matter.

Step 3: Wash and dry your kale pieces.

Step 4: Make the sauce

Step 5: The fun part! Put kale in a big bowl and dump the sauce over top. Get your hands in there and massage into the kale pieces, making sure each piece is coated.

Step 6: Place onto dehydrator trays and dehydrate for about 6-8 hours at about 110.

This could of probably been put onto three trays but I squished them onto two.

I have never made these in the oven before but I have read that you can. Just put them on low and watch them.

Sooo cheesy!! Nutritional yeast is amazing.

So after about 7 ish hours I took them out ( and snacked on MANY while they were cooking) and they were perfect!

green, crispy, and cheeesy

These are so addicting!! And so easy to make. They even pass Andrew’s taste test. Which is saying A LOT. If he likes them, anyone will 😉

Cheesy Lizard Skins

1 big bunch of kale

1 cup of raw (or just unsalted) cashews soaked in water for 2 hours or more

juice of 1 lemon

1 red pepper (I’m sure any color would be fine)

5 tbsp nutritional yeast (or more to taste)

pinch of salt

Throw it all together in a food processor (or a blender would work too I’m sure) until smooth.

*****

Lunch was eaten a little late because those oats were sooo filling!

mountain wrap

Amy’s veggie burger

1/4 mashed avocado

mixed greens

kale chips

After lunch Andrew and I took Biz for about a 45 min walk. No rain this time!!  When we got home I did a 20 minute ab video. No crunches!!

Supper was a definite fail. I’ll show you the pic but I won’t even bother telling you the mess that was in there. It was supposed to be a pasta salad but I didn’t have the ingredients for the dressing I wanted, blah blah blah. And my brussel sprouts were like mush. The only good thing about supper was the toast.

I made chocolate covered mulberries for dessert!!

But I’ll save that for tomorrow 😉

*****

Smile of the day:

Cathedral Cove, New Zealand

It’s been 5 years since I came home from NZ and I still miss it everyday. I seriously can’t think of anywhere else I would rather be. ONE DAY sooooon I will go back. My travel list gets new destinations added to it almost everyday, yet this is still #1. I feel like a Kiwi living in a Canadian’s body haha. I am such a nerd. If you ever get the chance to go, GO! You will not regret it 🙂

Paije xx

