Hey friends!!

Ah I missed your faces!

I am back to regular blogging FROM. NOW. ON.

Thanks to all your sweet comments to get better soon, because I am! So much better 🙂

I have a bunch of random yummy meals to show you from the past couple days.

I’ll start with our work breakfast.

the egg station

action shot

fruit platter, hashbrown casserole, toast, bagels, cream cheese, bacon

my plate

hashbrown casserole = love.

Anyone know a way to “healthify” this recipe???

Because you know this serving wasn’t the only one I had 😉

***

Supper one night was a fish sandwich. Boring right? Wrong.

I lightly breaded a piece of mahi mahi in an egg white and panko and baked it for 20 minutes at 400F.

I mixed up some coleslaw with relish, a Laughing Cow light, and mustard.

Grilled in ma grill pan and served with a bowl of minestrone soup.

Crunchy coleslaw + crunchy fish

innnsides

***

baked yam with baked beans, steamed broccoli, goat chedda and sriracha

and a salad with buttercrunch lettuce from my garden, chives, italian and ranch dressing and pomegranate seeds.

Omgsh up until like last year, I used to HAAATE yams. Totally despised them. But now, for whatever reason, I LOOOOVE them!

Do you have any fruits/veggies that you used to hate but now love??

***

And speaking of my garden, I took some pics today to show you how it’s been coming along!

Look at all that spinach!

buttercrunch lettuce OVERLOAD

baby tomatoes

cilantro tree

pretty lavender flower

I picked a bit of everything for a salad for supper tonight.

I served it along side one of my favorite dishes.

Curried Tomatoes + Chickpeas

(AKA Chickpea Goodness)

1/2 onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can of organic chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 can crushed tomatoes (28 oz)

Fry the onion in a tiny bit of oil in a saucepan. After about 5 min, add the garlic. Saute until the onions are soft and shiny. Add the chickpeas and tomatoes. Season to taste with the following:

2 tbsp chili powder

2 tbsp cumin

1 1/2 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp curry powder

dash of cayenne pepper

Also add a pinch of saffron threads steeped in 1/4 cup of boiling water. Tumeric will substitute but doesn’t have nearly as much flavor.

Simmer covered for about 15-20 minutes. Serve on top of rice, by itself, on a bed of greens, whatever!

This recipe is from my friend Jaime who made it for me when I first became a vegetarian and only ate pasta haha.

My salad was topped with Danica’s  ginger sesame dressing, ranch and pomegranate seeds

***

We had a work birthday yesterday and the birthday boy requested carrot cake. I’ve never made carrot cake before and had bookmarked the Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies by Martha Strewart ages ago, so this was the perfect time to try them out.

They were amazing. BIG HIT. And they were so easy to make! BONUS.

I didn’t realize until after I had made 3/4 of the batch that I had been making 1 ounce cookies….not 1/2 ounce. I ended up making some big ass mamajama cookies.

I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I halved the 1 cup of raisons and subbed in 1/2 cup of pecans. Be warned though that this recipe is by no means healthy. I had never used so much butter or sugar before in my life. Sure are tasty though 🙂

***

I have been consuming many green monsters. Same way everyday.

I love my glass straw!

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

2 handfuls of spinach

1 1/2 tbsp homemade pecan butter

5-6 ice cubes

mini banana (or half a regular banana)

photo shoot outside

Look at all that pecany goodness

geek. sans makeup. after a jog.

***

Have you ever heard of yogurt cheese?

I had not. But I found a few recipes and was so intrigued I had to give it a go.

I dumped 1 1/2 cups of plain yogurt that was mixed with 3/4 cup of raspberries and 1 tbsp honey onto a strainer lined with 4 sheets of cheese cloth. I wrapped it loosely with plastic wrap and kept it in the fridge overnight.

I spread it on a few wheat thins.

This was surprisingly really good! I forgot to drizzle it with more honey after I put it onto a plate but I didn’t even notice. I would definitely make this again but would try another fruit. Blackberries maybe??

***

x 10

***

hard boiled egg white, yams, coleslaw and marinated veggies in a Mountain Bread wrap.

served with fresh raspberries and Rochelle Broccoli Salad.

***

Holy peeps I didn’t realize how many meals I hadn’t updated! I have tons more, too!

Picture pita pizzas, more salads, veggie burgers and lots of oatmeal.

I’ll be back tomorrow – no lies – with a NORMAL post. Sorry this recap was all over the place!!

Hope you’re having a fabulous week!!

Paije xx

Do you know what made me smile today?

YOU DID. Reading your sweeet comments and catching up with my google reader!! YAY!!!


