Hey guys!!

Happy Monday!

I took an EDO last minute and am so glad I did! It was such a beautiful day 🙂

I got to catch up on some reading, cleaning and just relaaaxed all afternoon.

I got stung by a bee though! I am allergic to bees and last time I got stung I couldn’t see for a week! (The ugly proof is on my other computer.) I only swelled up for about an hour and that’s it this time. YAY!!

***

Last night we went bowling with my cousins! It was AWESOME! I bowled terribly but we went more for the company anyways 🙂

My cousin Kyle and his wife Robyn just got back from traveling and I loved hearing all their stories. Robyn took cooking classes in a bunch of different countries so next time they are in the city I’m definitely going to have to get her to show me a thing or two!!

***

I woke up this morning with a seeeerious craving for eggs benedict. I looove hollandaise sauce but don’t love how many calories it has. So I made my own healthier version!

Less than 250 calories! Compared to the usual 600-800 calories.

Skinny Benny

1 egg

1 piece of bread (or an english muffin)

3 pieces of swiss chard

2 pieces of Laughing Cow light cheese

1/4 cup + almond milk (or skim milk)

salt and pepper

Poach your egg. Toast your bread. Steam your swiss chard. Mash the Laughing Cow with the almond milk, salt and pepper in a small pan and heat over medium heat. It will thicken the longer you cook it. Add more almond milk until the sauce is a consistency you like! To assemble, put your toast down on a plate, top with the swiss chard and the egg and pour your sauce on top. Optional: Add hot sauce, lemon juice, salsa, or chives to the sauce or use different greens like beet greens, kale or spinach.

I’m gonna get a little off topic now but this is something that I have wanted to discuss on the bloggie for a bit now.

I want to make a point that I do not count calories. And I am definitely not on a diet. How I eat is a lifestyle. My lifestyle. And it works for me. I listen to my body and feed the monster when it’s hungry 😉 I follow a “Rainbow Diet” and love to eat colorful meals. I also eat locally and organically as often as possible. Gardens ruuuuuule and I am SO GRATEFUL for the portable one my mom made me! I don’t eat chicken, pork, or beef but do eat fish occasionally and I eat whole grains, eggs and dairy. And I LOOOVE smoothies. Especially green monsters! I try to show my body some love by moving and exercising daily and I love to sweat!!

Some examples of the “Rainbow Diet“:

Orange

orange peppers, apricots, carrots, pumpkin, oranges, yams, cantaloupe

Red

red peppers, tomatoes, watermelon, cherries, strawberries, pomegranates

Yellow

yellow peppers, bananas, squash, pineapple, onions

Green

peppers, spinach, kale, swiss chard, brussel sprouts, asparagus, avocado, kiwis, peas

Purple

eggplant, grapes, blackberries, beets, plums, onions, prunes

Big salads are also a HUGE staple in my diet. They are so versatile! I know you’re probably bored to death with seeing pictures of my big ass salads but I swear they are so awesome/filling I just can’t help it. I had a one again today 🙂

This one had:

organic spring greens, spinach and coleslaw mix

1/4 of an avocado

1/2 cup of brown rice

1/2 an apple

steamed asparagus and brussel sprouts

pomegranate seeds

a grated carrot

1 tbsp of goat chedda

1/2 tbsp of Danica’s sesame ginger dressing

1 tsp of ranch

blob of new hummus

I’m 99% sure it is made by the bakery in the local health food store. Regardless, I love the ingredient list and their cute little label

Because we don’t have air conditioning and the house is HOT, Andrew cancelled any oven use by me today.  (I did toast some pecans for some pecan butter while he was at work this morning though ;)) We decided to bbq but I wasn’t quite feelin’ the same old bbq food. I did some brain storming and decided to do a meal in a foil pouch. Easiest clean up EVER!

I had a picnic on the floor on my yoga mat. (Don’t worry, it’s clean!) My computer was in front of me but I got caught up watching Sister Act instead. Should I be embarrassed that I know the words to all the songs? Naaah.


Red Thai Coconut Foil Pouch

2 tsp red thai curry paste

1/4 cup light coconut milk

1/4 cup veggie broth

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2 cup couscous (whole wheat if possible)

1/2 red pepper, sliced

1 carrot, sliced

bunch of chives, chopped

1 piece of mahi mahi (optional, just add more veggies)

Mix together the first four ingredients and set aside. Rip off a long piece of tinfoil and lay it in front of you lengthwise. Fold about a 1/2 inch border along the outside so that none of the liquid can escape. Put the couscous in the middle of the foil and put the veggies on top. Pour half the sauce on top. Top with fish and the rest of the sauce. Grab the top and bottom edges of the foil and pull over the the food, pinching at the top. Fold down until about an inch away from the food. Fold up the other sides and place on the bbq on high for about 30 minutes. Check and cook longer if necessary. Fish will be flakey and veggies will be tender crisp when finished. Garnish with fresh lime juice and cilantro.

Dessert was a little bowl of heaven. More bbq foil pouches!

Clean Eating has a bunch of foil pouch meals in this months mag – check them out! They also have this crazy cherry chocolate dessert. YUUUM!

I modified the serving size because it was just me tonight!

Chocolate-Drizzled Roasted Cherries Clean Eating

1 cup fresh cherries, pitted (I used the straw method)

1 tsp orange zest

1 1/2 tsp honey

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp chile powder

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/8 cup almond milk (or regular milk)

1 oz chocolate (I used Dark Chocolate Quinoa Midnight Crunch)

Make a foil pouch just like the one above. Toss cherries with honey and cinnamon and put them on the foil. Fold up and place on the bbq for 20 minutes. Mix together the rest of the ingredients and microwave until just melted, 20-30 seconds. When cherries are done, place in a bowl and top with a big spoonful of ice cream (if you’re me) and pour on the chocolate sauce. Enjoy!

That’s it for me tonight. It’s almost 2am! Crazy late night poster 😉

Sweet dreams!

Tomorrow will be a great day!

Paije xx


Know what made me smile today? MY MOM!!! She makes me smile everyday! 🙂

Happy birthday Mom!

♥ Love you up to the sky and back xxxooo ♥

