What, you may ask, is better than Saturday and Sunday?

You’ll see 🙂

***

Did you guys have a good weekend? I spent the weekend at work but I can’t complain. Now I’m off for 4 days!

My work eats were pretty boring. Leftovers, random thrown together meals, smoothies, fruit and millet bread.

broccoli, brown rice, and veggie burger with sriracha

smoothie goodies

spinach, almond milk, banana, blueberries, vanilla protein, 1/2 pack chocolate Amazing Grass Meal, mighty maple peanut butter

I love this millet bread with Earth Balance and haskap jam. MANY pieces have been consumed in the last 4 days 😉

I ate a TON of food last night at work and when I woke up this morning I was not hungry at all. So I ran some errands, got my hair done eyebrows done, nails done, everything did (I’m fancy) and then stopped at Co-op for some salad goodies.

I like to mix all my salads together. Greek, mixed greens and bean salad! Bean salad is one of my faaaaves.

After lunch I contemplated raking the yard….

but decided to stay outside with the pups and check out the new entries from foodbuzz’s Project Food Blog instead.

I just LOVE reading the entries for the 2nd challenge from all my fave bloggers. They are so incredibly creative and it’s so cool to see what they come up with!

After I got my votes in, it was time to start making supper/folding laundry/unpacking boxes. Anyone else multitask when they’re cooking? I still have a bit to unpack so instead of standing around while my food cooks, I get shit done. 🙂

What’s for supper you ask?

Stuffed Squash with Quinoa of course!

I used Mama Pea’s recipe for the quinoa but I’m not sure what kind of squash we used! My mom brought a bunch from her garden and I have no idea what this one was. If you recognize it, do tell.

1 cup of quinoa, 2 cups of veggie broth, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 1/4 of a white onion, fresh oregano.

after 20 minutes I added 2 laughing cow and fresh parsley.

I could of just eaten the whole pot full of quinoa but took into account that Andrew might be hungry after work. Lucky guy, hey?

Andrew came home and I gave him the job of cutting and deseeding the squash. We put them cut side down with a little bit of water in the oven at 350F for about an hour.

While these were cooking we took the pups for a little walk.

Cuba is such a good little walker! This was the first time I’ve taken him (Andrew usually takes them when I’m working nights) and he is so well behaved. NOT like Beasley at all lol.

Anyway, when we got home, we stuffed the squash with the quinoa, baked them for 10 more minutes and feasted!

Remember, terrible photos doesn’t mean terrible food 😀

I wish there were seconds. That quinoa is deeelish. You should make it. You’ll love it, too.

***

You’re probably still wondering (hopefully) about the title of my post. What could be better than Saturday or Sunday? Hmmm…

It involves this ugly fella

Jicama Hashbrowns!!!!

Oh yes sir. If you like hashbrowns you must make these. They are beyond amazeballs. BEYOND like 10 light years.

Of course I didn’t dream up this insane recipe myself, only someone like Danica from Danica’s Daily could come up with something so brilliant.

You might think I’m a little dramatic by saying these are better than the weekend. They are that good. And because I’m usually working Saturday and Sunday I would gladly take these over those the weekend anyway. 😀

It almost looks like shredded goat chedda! Mmmmmm

I sauteed some white onion and yellow peppers in coconut oil for about 5 minutes, added the jicama and 1/4 cup of water, salt, pepper and garlic powder and fried until the water was absorbed and crispyish.

Now it’s time for some Teen Mom and bed!

We still don’t have cable yet – not until Wednesday.  I really only want HBO so I can watch the new season of East Bound & Down, Hung, Bored to Death and Boardwalk Empire! I am such a sucker for those shows 🙂

Hope you have a great sleep and a great day tomorrow!

Paije xx

PS. Check out Project Food Blog if you haven’t already!

