Hola amigos!

Happy day before Friday!

Wednesday I was a craaaampy mess. Crampy like a 13 year old girl. So I did what any other 13 year old girl with a belly ache and the house to herself would do: stayed home from school work and ate ice cream in bed 🙂 It was awesome.

Banana soft serve with almond butter, chia seeds and toasted pecans on top.

I slept the day away and Andrew was kind enough to go pick up supper from Las Palapas. I had the black bean and roasted vegetable burrito minus the cheese and crema fresca with bean salad and rice on the side.

I ate the whoooole plate 😀

Yesterday I had a typical breakfast…

I could eat waffles night and day. I love them! I used my same recipe and topped them with pomegranates and maple syrup.

After  breakfast I went for a terrible run. Not sure what was going on but it was pretty awful. I couldn’t breathe and found myself out of breath after jogging for a couple minutes. Hm hm hmmmm.

I came home and demolished this sandwich.

Ezekiel bread, heirloom tomatoes, mustard and relish with rice thins on the side.

I plaaaaayed the pups out outside! They are soo funny and are getting along so well. Look at this sweet face 😀

The rest of my meals were preeettty uninteresting yesterday. Random leftover fridge meals x2 and some toast for a snack. Snore.

***

Did I tell you I bought a new cookbook? My bad if I didn’t.

(source)

This book is sooooo awesome. I’ve already made two recipes so far and they were both great!

Mushroom Burgers with Barley

adapted from Veggie Burgers Every Which Way

1/2 medium yam (sweet potato), steamed

1 large or 2 small portobello mushrooms

12 cremini mushrooms

10 button mushrooms

1 cup cooked barley (I cooked mine in veggie broth)

4 sprigs fresh thyme

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

olive oil

salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 375F. Steam yam until tender. Mash with fork. Scoop gills out of portobello and chop into bite size pieces. Quarter cremini and button mushrooms. Heat 1 tsbp of oil in pan and add portobello and thyme. Cook for about 6-8 minutes until mushrooms are soft. Add the rest of the mushrooms and cook for about 10 minutes. Add balsamic vinegar. Add mushrooms to a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Mix mushrooms with yam, barley, salt and pepper. Shape into 6 patties. Heat 2 tbsp oil over med-high heat and add patties. Cook until browned on each side, about 3-5 minutes per side. Transfer the pan to the oven and bake for about 20 minutes.

Terrible picture, I know but I was STARVING by this point! Pictures were obvz the last thing on my mind.

I had broccoli with cheddar Daiya for a side.

I froze the rest and then made the beet and brown rice burgers (for the second time) and froze them as well. They are so much better than eating those cardboard tasting store bought veggie burgres 😀

Aaahhhhh that about does it lovelies. I am exhaaausted.  I have an appointment first thing in the morning so I better get to bed!

Head + pillow + sweet dreams = ♥

Night all!

Paije xx

