You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 27, 2011.

Heeey guys! Happy Friday!! πŸ˜€

Do you ever have days when you’re super productive, getting almost everything on your to-do list done? Aaaand then the next day you do absolutely nada? Yup. That was me yesterday and today.Β 

I’ll start with yesterday.

I got up early and drove Andrew to work. I came home and took Beasley for a loong walk where we saw some words of wisdom written on the trail. πŸ˜€

Β “Drop beats, not bombs”.

“Peace in every step”.Β 

We got home, I did a little weight sesh, showered and made breakfast. I have been LOVIN’ Deb’s protein muffins for awhile now. They’re soo good!!Β 

I use 1/2 cup liquid egg whites (I ONLY use free run organic), 1/2 tsp baking powder, 2 tbsp brown rice flour, 1 tsp pure vanilla bean powder and 1/4 cup applesauce.

I topped it with 1 tbsp maple syrup, 1 tbsp of PB&C White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter and hemp hearts.

Cherries!!! I wait all year for cherry season. Fo sho. And I literally search high and low the rest of the year for frozen ones. They are my FAVORITE.Β 

After breakfast I went and got a new phone!!

The iphone 4. Oh yes. Welcome me to 2011 :)

I also got a printer. The HP Envy.

(source)

I haven’t set it up yet but I’m reeeally hoping that it will work okay. I haven’t had much luck with HP products 😦 

As soon as I finished picking up my phone and printer, I had to race to the donor clinic to donate some blood!

My iron was 126!! (It has to be at least 125 to give blood) Boooyah!!

I guzzled down an apple juice when I finished and headed home to EAT. It only took me 5:44 for the actual blood donation but I was there for a little over an hour. It was soo busy because our teachers are on a 2 day strikeΒ and tons of them came to donate blood. πŸ™‚Β 

Leftover soup was on the menu. Soo good the second day.

I also had another piece of rosemary bread, goat cheese, sundried tomatoes and basil with baby cukes, snap peas and hummus.

I have been LOVING this new hummus lately. Fontaine Sante Humm! Carmelized Onion. Ever tried it??

After lunch I cleaned up the house a little bit/read some blogs and then picked up Andrew from work and we went and bought a BBQ! It’s still in its box so fingers crossed we will be eating barbequed veggies by Monday πŸ˜‰

After picking up the BBQ we were both super hungry. The BBQ didn’t actually fit in my car so we had to take it back in the store, come home and then Andrew had to take his vehicle to pick it up. During rush hour. Blech. Anyways, back to hungry.

We had picked up some salmon the other day so Andrew got started on a marinade and I was in charge of the sides.

Moroccan Inspired Quinoa

serves 4

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup veggie broth
  • 2 tbsp+ water
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • thumb sized nub of ginger, minced
  • pinch of salt

Spray a small pot with olive oil and heat over medium high heat. Add onion, garlic, ginger and spices and saute until onion is soft, stirring constantly, adding water and making sure it doesn’t burn. Add quinoa and another tbsp of water, stirring constantly until quinoa is lightly toasted, about 2-3 minutes. Add veggie broth, cover with a tight fitting lid and turn the heat down to low. Cook for 15 minutes or until water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork and serve.

Andrew made the bessssssst salmon I’ve ever had! It was omg good πŸ™‚

Honey Mustard Lime Salmon

serves 2

  • 2 pieces of salmon (I think ours were about 4-5 ounces?)
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp honey dijon mustard (or any mustard will do)
  • 1/2 tsp oil
  • pinch of salt

Turn oven on low broil. Whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl. Brush half of the sauce on salmon and place in glass pan sprayed with olive oil. Broil for approx. 6 minutes. Take out the salmon out, brush with remaining sauce and put back in to broil for another 6 minutes.Β 

Haha I didn’t realize how lopsided my plate looked when I took this pic. Oh, we obvs had steamed brocs too πŸ™‚

I literally stuffed my face and then fell asleep watching the new South Park.

***

Today….hmmm…..well I walked Beasley this morning. You know that little weight sesh I mentioned I did yesterday morning? Yeah, ummm I wasn’t moving very fast today. I love that burn but OH GEEZ. I took it easy and just played with Beas in the backyard.Β 

We have one dead spot in our yard and he just loooooves to roll around on it.Β 

Hahaha monster face.

I finally decided to make breakfast around 11am and wanted to try a savory version of the protein muffin.

I mixed together 1/2 cup egg whites, 2 tbsp brown rice flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 diced mushroom, 2 tbsp chopped red pepper, 2 chopped broccoli florets, 2 tbsp diced onion, 2 tbsp goat cheddar, fresh dill and fresh spinach. Microwaved for 3 minutes on high, plopped on a plate and topped with 1 more tbsp cheese.

I had some toast with pb and cantaloupe too and I smothered the muff with salsa right after I took this pic πŸ˜€

I have been snacking on and off all day. Doing lots of nothing and loving it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

This is about the only other actual meal I’ve eaten today.

Leffffffffffftovers!

I beefed up the quinoa from last night with some chickpeas marinated in some lemon juice and tossed it with romaine and a big glob of hummus.

I think that is about it! Ah sorry about the mega long post!Β 

Andrew and I are hitting up the farmers market in the morning and then who knows!

 

Much love ❀

 

Paije xo

 

What is your favorite fruit? Do you only eat it when it’s in season or do you eat it year round?Β I am like bad obsessed with cherries. I WISH I could eat them year round! Unfortunately I’ve never found frozen ones!

Do you have on and off days? I am definitely not a go go go type person. I looove to do things at my own pace + on my own schedule haha πŸ™‚

 

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other subscribers
May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031