Hey! Happy Hellaweekend!!

Did you have a good Halloween??

I’m not too big into the holiday myself….. but I LOVE seeing all the costumes though so I have been a super facebook lurker today 😉

Andrew and I have been handing out candy all day. We started getting kids about 3:00 pm! We’ve seen lots of princesses, witches, draculas and skeletons! No Snookis yet though….

There is a pumpkin shortage in Saskatoon this year. The horror. I’ve sure it wouldn’t have been a problem if we wouldn’t of waited until today to get our pumpkins but that’s neither here nor there. I called every store that might sell them and they were all sold out. Boo! Luckily I had a mini pumpkin to carve but it still not the same 😦

Hahaha he looks so pitiful. He did produce about 1 cup of pumpkin seeds though so I mixed them up with 1 tsp of olive oil and about 1 1/2 tbps of ranch seasoning and baked them at 350F for 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

These were gone in about…oh 2 minutes. Now you can understand why the pumpkin shortage is such a big deal, yeah? 🙂

Soo I know I left off here awhile ago, and I apologize. I have been SO LAZY since returning home from my trip to Minot with my mom. The trip was fabulous but I was exhausted. We got back at 7 pm on Monday night and I had to be up at 4:30 am for work on Tuesday. Needless to say, I haven’t really caught up on my sleep which means I haven’t been working out or cooking anything really exciting this past week. I have been eating these everyday.

When will Saskatchewan learn that greek yogurt is this shiiiiiz?! I had to drive these babies 8 hrs and  across the border. Do you think that means I have a problem?  NOT.

Other lazy meals have included (but are not limited to)..

A leftover beet and black beans burger mixed with 3 egg whites, veggie chips and a piece of toast with raspberry jam.

Broccoli and red pepper soup in which my Vitamix really did all the work. (Recipe to come soon)

Gigantic egg puffer a la Lindsay

Meatless chik’n nuggets, caprese salad from Safeway and steam broc with a light mozzarella, sundried tomato and basil laughing cow (also smuggled into Canada)

Salad with crushed up crackers, frozen roasted veggies, the rest of the caprese salad and balsamic dressing.

I whipped up some Pretzel Kisses for snacks and I can’t stop eating them! I was going to take them to work for the girls…but yeah, don’t think that’s gonna happen 😉

Place a kiss on a pretzel, bake for 2-3 minutes in a 350F oven and top with a smartie or reeces pieces. Easiest snack everrrrr.

I’ve been keeping them in the freezer. They are SO GOOD cold!!

They are also SO GOOD in greek yogurt 🙂

I did put some effort into one of my meals. My brother sent me a package in the mail the other day and he taped a recipe to the back. No idea where the recipe came from but it’s a keeperrrr.

Roasted Yam Fajitas

serves 6 to 8

3 medium yams or sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into fries
2 carrots, julienned
1 each medium red and green bell peppers, cut into strips
1 medium onion, sliced
2 Tbsp  extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Sauce
1/3 cup orange juice
1 tsp  lime rind, grated
2 Tbsp  lime juice (juice from one lime)
1 Tbsp  extra-virgin olive oil
1 Tbsp garlic, minced
1 tsp  dried oregano
1 tsp  ground cumin
1/4 tsp  hot pepper flakes

6 or 8 whole wheat tortillas, 7 to 8 in (17.5 to 20 cm)

Preheat oven to 350 F (180 C); place baking sheet in oven while preheating.

Filling: Toss yams, carrots, peppers, and onion with oil. Carefully place on preheated baking sheet; sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until tender but not mushy.

Sauce: In large bowl, combine orange juice, lime zest and juice, oil, garlic, oregano, cumin, and hot pepper flakes. Add roasted vegetables and toss until coated.

Place vegetables in centre of tortillas and wrap.

I obvi didn’t wrap mine. I cigar rolled a mountain wrap smothered with a light laughing cow and put my veggies on some brown rice.


The leftovers have been deeeeviiiiiiine.

***

On a non food related note, I have been thinking a lot about doing some volunteer work. I love to give, whether it be my time, money or baking, etc. Anything I can do that makes me feel like I’m making a difference. I’m going to be doing something different every month to help out.

For October I made some carrot cake cookies and pumpkin cheesecake muffins for the Saskatoon SPCA bake sale.

I have no final product pictures…..it was 2am when I finished!

Andrew even helped bake the muffins and cookies and then got up early on Saturday morning to drop them off. 🙂

November I will be participating in Operation Christmas Child. I can’t wait to get started!

There are so many people/animals in need and volunteering/donating is such a small act with big results!

***

OK that’s enough outta me tonight! I scheduled an orthodontist appointment 6 weeks ago for 8am tomorrow morning. What was I thinking?! Gah.

Can’t wait to lurk read about your Halloweenss!!! Love ya kittens!

 

Paije xx

 


